Conservation Awards Committee

Committee Members: B. Bergstrom, C.W. Edwards, E.J. Finck, K.S. Foresman, M. Hackett, J. Hallett, D.W. Kaufman, J.L. Koprowski, C.A. Long, B. Riddle, S.R. Sheffield (Chair), A.T. Smith, T.E. Tomasi, J. Whorley, J.A. Yunger

Mission:

This Committee administers two awards, the Aldo Leopold Conservation Award and the William T. Hornaday Award. These awards were established by the ASM Board of Directors in 2002. The Aldo Leopold Award was created to recognize a well-established individual who has made a lasting scientific contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. The William T. Hornaday Award was created to recognize a current graduate or undergraduate student who has made a significant contribution as a student to the conservation of mammals and their habitats.

Information Items:

(1) The ASM Conservation Awards Committee received no new nominations for either the Leopold or Hornaday Awards in 2006. The Committee maintains nominations for three years for the Leopold Award, and this year reviewed the top 2 nominations from 2005 for the Aldo Leopold Award, but had no nominations were reviewed for the William T. Hornaday Award. After a thorough review process, a nomination for the Leopold Award was made to the Board for 2006. Results of these deliberations will be made public at the Annual Banquet.

Action Items:

(1) Budget Items: \$400 for annual costs (Note - no Hornaday Award will be presented this year).

Respectfully submitted, Steve Sheffield, Ph.D., Chair (srsheffield@comcast.net)